Many improvements and landscape features having a special character or a special historical or aesthetic interest or value and representing the finest architectural products of distinct periods in the history of the Borough have been uprooted without adequate consideration of the irreplaceable loss to the people of the Borough of the aesthetic, cultural and historic values represented by such improvements and landscape features, notwithstanding the feasibility of preserving and continuing the use of such improvements and landscape features. In addition, distinct areas may be similarly uprooted or may have their distinctiveness destroyed, although the preservation thereof may be both feasible and desirable.

       It is hereby declared as a matter of public policy that the protection, enhancement, perpetuation and use of improvements and landscape features of special character or special historical or aesthetic interest or value is a public necessity and is required in the interest of the health, prosperity, safety and welfare of the people.